Homocysteine Update 2

After my drop in Homocysteine levels to a normal range after around 6 weeks of Vitamin B12, B6, B2 and Folate supplementation I decided to see if they would shoot back up if I came off the supplement. I spent 2.5 weeks without supplementing. Now I have to admit that I am not sure if this represents a length of time in which levels can be expected to rise but nevertheless I did expect to see some significant raise even if it was not back to the alarming level of 22 that I had recorded some 3 months ago. My number came in at 8.28, only slightly above what I recorded 2.5 weeks ago after a period of supplementing. Now I am not sure what this means other than I am now feeling a little suspicious of the original reading of 22. I am wondering whether the recording was an accurate figure or something went wrong with the testing. It does seem very high given that all of my other markers are in respectable ranges. I think under the circumstances I will resume vitamin B12 etc supplementation and then at some point in the next 6 months retest with the original test supplier Blue Horizon. The last two tests were with a different provider. If all test results are accurate then it does suggest, as many have testified, that getting a hold on Homocysteine levels is easily achieved with the right supplementation. The trick for most people is finding out in the first place that you should get it checked. Your cholesterol obsessed doctor is unlikely to mention it. I am also currently reading the book Could it be B12 which I can recommend. There seems to be a strong link between B12 deficiency and Alzheimer and Parkinson type symptoms particularly in older people. In fact there could be a direct link but of course proving this would require the kind of investment only the drug companies have and they are not going to go out of their way to prove a link between a simple vitamin supplement and possible assistance in the treatment of a common condition. A Swedish study found that seniors with low intake of B12 and Folate were twice as likely to develop Alzheimers as people with healthy B12 levels. Samples were taken before any signs of Alzheimers appeared which showed that the low B12 levels were not a result of the Alzheimers disease. There was also a Dutch study in which 2.400 subjects were tracked and those with high Homocysteine levels were twice as likely to break a hip. Increased levels of Osteoporosis as well as low B12 having an effect on balance were the likely reasons. Vegetarians are the most likely candidates for B12 deficiency due to the high content of B12 in meats.

The drug companies have got everybody obsessed with their cholesterol levels. Take a look at any of the heart related forums and someone will be asking if anyone knows of a statin that can get their cholesterol down to a negative number. The guy who first alerted the medical profession to the link between Homocysteine and heart disease did so in the late 1960’s but had his research grant withdrawn as a result as the system went all in on cholesterol and low fat. I only discovered the role of Homocysteine because it was a thrown in test when I had my LDL particle size tested. If it had not come back elevated I may never have learnt about it. Why has my doctor not suggested at some point in the last 24 months a routine test. Here is just one Pubmed research publication in which all cause mortality was increased 98% amongst the group with the highest levels.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25559959

Leave a Reply

