Typical Day

I have been asked on more than one occasion what my diet is like, especially as I have been banging on about food and heart disease. The best way to sum it up would be with a typical days food and drink, here go’s Breakfast – Green Tea with Ginger, Glass of water with T spoon of Cayenne Pepper, Porridge with Chia seeds, red grapes and apple and either Hemp milk or Almond milk, one Krill oil tablet, one vit D3 /K2 tablet, one 1000mg vit C tab, one 500mg L-Lysine tablet, one 500mg L-Proline tablet and two Fruitflow tablets. One veg smoothie consisting of red grapes, one beetroot, glass of beetroot juice and a couple of handfuls of Kale Lunch – Usually a visit to the local Veggie cafe or Pret a Manger where I may have something like Pumpkin soup followed by a Salmon sushi Salad (no bread), more green tea and couple of pieces of dark chocolate minimum 70% cocoa Dinner – Wild Sockeye Salmon with sweet potato and fresh vegetables, Garlic tablet, Nattokinase tablet, fresh fruit and greek yoghhurt, maybe a glass of red wine or green tea Snacks – If I feel snacky I always have a box of Brazil nuts, Walnuts, Almonds and Pumpkin seeds to nibble on. I may also snack on Mackrel on toast using a gluten/grain free bread such as Genius (probably the only time I eat bread). The interesting thing is that with this dietary approach I never feel hungry or that I am restricting how much I am eating and yet my weight has dropped from 14 stone to 11 stone 5lbs and importantly remains constant. I am no expert on weight loss diets but it seems to me that what you eat is far more important than how much you eat. Traditional weight loss seems to centre around ‘keep eating the crap but count how much you eat’. This has been shown to be unsustainable in the long run even though it may give short term results. If there are any dieticians out there I would welcome their comments

Leave a Reply

